Sunrise over Ionian sea

The Ionian Sea (GreekΙόνιο Πέλαγος [iˈonio ˈpelaɣos]ItalianMar Ionio [mar ˈjɔːnjo]AlbanianDeti Jon [dɛti jɔ:n]) is an elongated bay of the Mediterranean Sea, south of the Adriatic Sea. It is bounded by southern Italy including CalabriaSicily, and the Salento peninsula to the west, southern Albania to the north, and the west coast of Greece.

All major islands in the sea belong to Greece. They are collectively named the Ionian Islands, the main ones being CorfuZakynthosKephaloniaIthaca, and Lefkada. There are ferry routes between Patras and Igoumenitsa, Greece, and Brindisi and Ancona, Italy, that cross the east and north of the Ionian Sea, and from Piraeus westward. Calypso Deep, the deepest point in the Mediterranean at −5,267 m (−17,280 ft), is located in the Ionian Sea, at 36°34′N 21°8′E.The sea is one of the most seismically active areas in the world.

Related Images:

We cannot display this gallery
Spread the love, share it.
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn